Each College and unit at Penn State is invited to create a Sustainability Council. The purpose of the Sustainability Council is to strategically advance the University’s sustainability goals from within its unit. Each Sustainability Council is headed by a Chair and composed of faculty, staff, students and stakeholders. Councils are seated by the Dean or Chancellor to provide leadership and ensure their college/campus is sustainable in all efforts, including research, teaching and operations. Chairs play a key role in identifying short- and long- term sustainability goals and strategies, creating a sustainability charter for the unit, and aligning the unit’s unique mission and goals with the sustainable development goals of UN Agenda 2030. Below is a regularly updated list of current councils, chairs and charters.

If you are interested in learning more about Sustainability Councils, Chairs and Charters, please contact the Sustainability Institute by calling or emailing: 814-865-7488 / sustainability@psu.edu.

College of Arts & Architecture

Smeal College of Business

Smeal College of Business

Photo of Juliet Pinto

Bellisario College of Communications

Tim White

College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

Gregory Pavlak image

College of Engineering

College of Engineering

Kevin Dean image

Facilities Engineering Institute

image of JoAnn Foley-DeFiore

College of Health and Human Development

Prasenjit Mitra headshot

College of Information Sciences and Technology

Prasenjit Mitra
Council Co-Chair

College of Liberal Arts

Sarah Bronson headshot

College of Medicine

Erin Kitt-Lewis headshot

Ross and Carol Nese College of Nursing

Charles T. Anderson headshot

Eberly College of Science

Lucy McClain


Tom Bartnik


picture of Ben Goldman

University Libraries

Ben Goldman 
Council Chair